What is IELTS?

The International English Language Testing System (IELTS) is the world’s most popular English language proficiency test for higher education and global migration

Why is IELTS important?

More than 10,000 organisations globally trust IELTS, so when you take the test you can be confident that it is recognised by educational institutions, employers, governments and professional bodies around the world.

As one of the pioneers of four skills English language testing 30 years ago, IELTS continues to set the standard for English language testing today. Governments in Australia, Canada, New Zealand and the United Kingdom use IELTS to process immigration applications.

What is the pattern of exam?

In IELTS, there are four papers: Listening, Reading, Writing and Speaking. There are two different IELTS modules: Academic and General Training. The Speaking and Listening tests are the same in both modules, but the Reading and Writing tests are different. The test is designed to reflect the real-life usage of English language at study, at work and at informal gatherings. IELTS results are scored on a unique 9-band scale.
The listening, reading and writing tests are conducted on one day while the speaking module may be taken within seven days prior or after the test. Since there is no specific eligibility criterion, any aspirant can register for the test. The selection procedure through IELTS varies from institution to institution.

Academic Module

Choose this if you wish to study at undergraduate or postgraduate levels, or if you are
seeking professional registration, e.g. doctors and nurses. 

General Training Module

Choose this if you wish to migrate to an English-speaking country, (e.g. Australia,
Canada, New Zealand, UK) or if you wish to train or study at below degree level.

What’s in the exam?

Section Content Time

40 questions

Approximately 30 minutes
40 questions
60 minutes
2 Tasks
60 minutes
3 parts
11 - 14 minutes